Young People's Spotlight Awards 2019


A new awards ceremony to celebrate the achievements of Pembrokeshire's young people was held on 1st November 2019 at Folly Farm.

The event sought to recognise the achievements of young people who are either supported by or involved with Pembrokeshire County Council in some way. It is the result of a collaboration between the Youth and Social Services departments of Pembrokeshire County Council.

A huge well done to the young people from Haverfordwest High VC School and Pembrokeshire College who are part of the Children & Young People's Rights Office's Rights Forum and were involved in designing and organising the Spotlight Awards, including all the Awards categories and criteria, and helping out on the night. Those involved were Jodie John, Sonia Sharief, Megan Davies, Caitlin Stapleton and Katey-Anne Othen. This was truly an event ‘For Young People, By Young People.' Nominees and their families/carers enjoyed an evening of dinner and free rides on the fairground, followed by an awards ceremony in the Follies Theatre, which was hosted by Cllr Huw George.

There were 11 award categories, and the event saw some amazing achievements noted and celebrated.

Winners and Runners up in each category were as follows:

Most inspiring story: Kitty Kilbey (winner), Miley Flynn and Angel Cooper (runners up)
Making a difference in the community: Kieran Williams (winner), Sophie Price, Rachel Hall and Nia Bendle (runners up)
Achieving positive change: Naomi Evans (winner), Sonia Sharief and Josh Allen (runners up)
Youth leader award: Briony Bennett (winner), Codi McSheehy and Eleanor Ebry (runners up)
Group award: Youth Bank (winners). Pembrokeshire Youth Assembly and Milford Haven Youth Council (runners up)
Music award: Dylan Sanders-Swales (winner), Carys Underwood and Kiah Lindsay (runners up)
Sport award: Libi Phillips (winner), Mia Isobel James and Jack Jones (runners up)
Education award: Prince's Trust Girls Group - Holly Hutton, Holly Polkinhorn, Chloe Lee, Danni Sandow (winners), Pavel Mustafa (runner up)
Eco Champion award: Stephan Power (winner), Manana Foster, Tyler Lewis and Lee Boswell (runners up)
Voice award: Elle Blundell (winner), Bethany Roberts and Rebecca Thomas (runners up)

The final award of the night was the special ‘Spotlight Award', given to a single young person for a particularly important contribution or achievement. And for this, the inaugural year of the awards, this award was given to Belle Curran who tragically passed away earlier this year. Following a moving presentation from Dawn Thomas (play therapist) about Belle's achievements, her parents Stella and John were on hand to receive the award in Belle's memory, in recognition of the fantastic legacy she leaves behind, with fundraising efforts in her name on the night, raising monies for a variety of worthwhile causes.

Special thanks also go to those who attended the event to present the young people with the awards, including Lily Rice (the 15 year-old women's wheelchair motor cross world champion), Simon Gardiner (from the Scarlets rugby team), Director of Education Kate Evan-Hughes, Director of Social Services Jonathan Griffiths, Bernadette Toomey (Interim Head of Children's Services), Steve Davis (Service Manager, Pembrokeshire Youth Services), Milford Youth Matters Co-ordinator Dayle Gibby, Tros Gynnal Advocate Kerry Llama, Eco Campion Mark Bond and Diane Beacroft (Service Manager, Integrated Safeguarding Team).

For photos of the ervent, please see our Facebook page


ID: 96, Revised: 6/11/2019